2017 Conference Summary

The 2017 Conference was held on October 27-28, 2017, with keynote speaker Dr. Jun Ye.

Conference photos may be viewed: 2017-inbre-photos
The conference program is available: 2017 INBRE program_final

Thank you for attending the conference.

Congratulations to the 2017 Student Award Winners!

Biological Sciences

1st oral Julio Molina-Pineda University of the Ozarks
2nd oral Ethan Chernivec University of Central Arkansas
Hon. Mention Daniel Nolan Games Ouachita Baptist University
1st  poster Erika Levy Hendrix College
2nd poster Nicole Lacina Harding University
Hon. Mention Cullen Horstmann Missouri State University
Kori Maloy University of Central Arkansas
Jacey Sites University of Arkansas – Fayetteville
Christopher Godwin Ouachita Baptist University
Emily Taylor Stone Hendrix College
Valeria Robleto University of the Ozarks
Logan Clay Ouachita Baptist University

Chemistry and Biochemistry

1st oral Alison Luscomb University of Arkansas – Fort Smith
2nd oral Jason Lam University of Arkansas – Monticello
Hon. Mention Mallory Bryant Harding University
1st  poster Emily Sanders Rhodes College
2nd poster Shamara Lawrence University of Arkansas – Pine Bluff
Hon. Mention Matthew Brownd John Brown University
Brayley Gattis University of Arkansas – Fayetteville


1st oral Phoebe Sharp Rhodes College
2nd oral Nathan Flood Pittsburg State University
1st  poster Thomas Owens Hendrix College
2nd poster S.G. Freyaldenhoven Univesity of Central Arkansas
Hon. Mention Davis Nossaman Harding University
Matthew Huber Rhodes College
Bria Collier University of Arkansas – Pine Bluff




Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence






The Arkansas INBRE Research Conference involves participation from colleges and universities in Arkansas and surrounding states in biological sciences, physics and chemistry and biochemistry.

This conference is sponsored by the Arkansas INBRE. It is hosted by the departments of Biological SciencesPhysics, and Chemistry and Biochemistry – Fulbright College of Arts and SciencesUniversity of Arkansas.

2017 Conference Planning Committee

  • Denise Greathouse, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Ravi Barabote, biological sciences
  • Leslie Johnson, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Roger Koeppe, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Reeta Vyas, physics

Arkansas INBRE

The Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (Arkansas INBRE) is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), under the Institutional Development Award (IDeA) Program of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The IDeA program was established for the purpose of broadening the geographic distribution of NIH funding for biomedical and behavioral research.

The Arkansas INBRE builds on the successful Arkansas Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (BRIN) program that was established in 2001 under a grant from the National Center for Research Resources (NCRR). The Arkansas BRIN established a statewide network that links Arkansas institutions of higher education to establish a statewide infrastructure in support of a growing effort to build a biomedical research capacity in Arkansas.