Arkansas INBRE 2018-2019

The 2019 conference is scheduled for October 25-26, 2019.

Registration is now Open.


  • The 2018 conference took place Nov 2-3 in Fayetteville.

The 2018 conference photos may be viewed here: 2018-inbre-photos

The 2018 Conference Program is available: 2018 INBRE program – Final- .

  • Congratulations to the 2018 Award Winners!

Biological Sciences

1st oral Jonathan Jenkins Hendrix College
2nd oral Hannah Zang Lyon College
Hon. Mention Grace Young UA Little Rock
1st poster Christy Eslinger Oklahoma State University
2nd poster Sarah Vernier UA – Fayetteville
Hon. Mention Brandy Fultz Northeastern State University
Saxyam Gautam UA – Fayetteville
Sarah Gilmour Hendrix College
Julio Molina-Pineda University of the Ozarks
Tyler Maxwell UA – Little Rock
Chloe Fitzgerald Arkansas Tech University
Sykes Martin Ouachita Baptist Universtiy

Chemistry and Biochemistry

1st oral Jordan Trant Lyon College
2nd oral Madison Perchik Rhodes College
Hon. Mention Anna Pinson Harding University
Hon. Mention Emily N. H. Tran University of Central Arkansas
1st poster Sarah Helland Rhodes College
2nd poster Josiah Johnson University of Central Arkansas
Hon. Mention Clement Agyemang University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
Catherine Shirley Ouachita Baptist University
Rebecca Evans Rhodes College
Rebeca Roldan Rhodes College


1st oral Jack Freeland UA – Fayetteville
2nd oral Christopher Michael Klenke Missouri State University
Hon. Mention Lucas Blake Southern Arkansas University
1st poster Zachary Wall Rhodes College
2nd poster Hanna Detar Hendrix College
Hon. Mention Nancy Velazquez Hendrix College
Jake Farmer University of Central Arkansas

  • The 2017 Conference took place on Oct 27-28.

    Previous conference photos may be viewed here: 2017-inbre-photos

    Conference program: 2017 INBRE program_final .

    Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence

    The Arkansas INBRE Research Conference involves participation from colleges and universities in Arkansas and surrounding states in biological sciences, physics and chemistry and biochemistry.

    This conference is sponsored by the Arkansas INBRE. It is hosted by the departments of Biological Sciences, Physics, and Chemistry and Biochemistry Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, University of Arkansas.

    2018 Conference Planning Committee

        • Denise Greathouse, chemistry and biochemistry
        • Ravi Barabote, biological sciences
        • Leslie Johnson, chemistry and biochemistry
        • Roger Koeppe, chemistry and biochemistry
        • Dan Lessner, biological sciences
        • Christian Tipsmark, biological sciences
        • Feng Wang, chemistry and biochemistry
        • Reeta Vyas, physics

    Arkansas INBRE

    The Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (Arkansas INBRE) is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), under the Institutional Development Award (IDeA) Program of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The IDeA program was established for the purpose of broadening the geographic distribution of NIH funding for biomedical and behavioral research.

    The Arkansas INBRE builds on the successful Arkansas Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (BRIN) program that was established in 2001 under a grant from the National Center for Research Resources (NCRR). The Arkansas BRIN established a statewide network that links Arkansas institutions of higher education to establish a statewide infrastructure in support of a growing effort to build a biomedical research capacity in Arkansas.