2016 Conference Summary

  The 2016 Conference was held on October 21-22, 2016, with keynote speaker Dr. Steven Harms, M.D.

Conference photos may be viewed here: 2016-inbre-photos
The conference program is available: 2016-inbre-program


Thank you for attending the conference.

Congratulations to the 2016 Student Award Winners!

Biological Sciences

1st oral Gina Hauptman UA – Fayetteville
2nd oral Brianna LaFerney Harding University
1st  poster John Short Missouri State University
2nd poster Christa Huber Hendrix College
Hon. Mention Dustin Brown UA – Little Rock
Julius B. Danquah Philander Smith Colllege
  Alyssa Hoover Harding University
  Yuliya Kunz Northeastern State University
  Angeline Rodriguez Missouri State University
  Donnell White UA – Monticello
  Taylor Winn UA – Fayetteville

Chemistry and Biochemistry

1st oral Tia’Asia James UA – Pine Bluff
2nd oral Amanda Paz Herrera University of the Ozarks
Hon. Mention Madison Perchik Rhodes College
1st  poster Samantha Jelinek Rhodes College
2nd poster Mercedes Winfrey UA – Pine Bluff
Hon. Mention Alex Graves Rhodes College
  Jasmine Johnson UA – Pine Bluff
  Madison Lee University of Central Arkansas
  Karli Lipinski UA – Fayetteville


1st oral Jesse Underwood Missouri State University
2nd oral Joseph Matson Hendrix College
Hon. Mention Luke Fairbanks Rhodes College
1st  poster Christopher Oldfield UA – Fayetteville
2nd poster Matthew Huber Rhodes College
Hon. Mention Chidubem Egbosimba UA – Fayetteville
Hayley Heacox University of Central Arkansas




Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence


110715_MG_17060242110715_MG_17220258   110715_MG_16960232110715_MG_16970233 110715_MG_16920228 110715_MG_16860223






The Arkansas INBRE Research Conference involves participation from colleges and universities in Arkansas and surrounding states in biological sciences, physics and chemistry and biochemistry.

This conference is sponsored by the Arkansas INBRE. It is hosted by the departments of Biological SciencesPhysics, and Chemistry and Biochemistry – Fulbright College of Arts and SciencesUniversity of Arkansas.

2016 Conference Planning Committee

  • Denise Greathouse, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Ravi Barabote, biological sciences
  • Leslie Johnson, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Roger Koeppe, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Reeta Vyas, physics

Arkansas INBRE

The Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (Arkansas INBRE) is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), under the Institutional Development Award (IDeA) Program of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The IDeA program was established for the purpose of broadening the geographic distribution of NIH funding for biomedical and behavioral research.

The Arkansas INBRE builds on the successful Arkansas Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (BRIN) program that was established in 2001 under a grant from the National Center for Research Resources (NCRR). The Arkansas BRIN established a statewide network that links Arkansas institutions of higher education to establish a statewide infrastructure in support of a growing effort to build a biomedical research capacity in Arkansas.